Posted in Uncategorized

Emotions YES, Emotional Drama NO!


“But is it worth the heartache?” She probed me for the nth time because I went on and on about my same Dukhbhari Kahani for the nth time (patiently that she would listen). For once, not only did I listen to her, but also understood her question. Five years down the line you’ll probably joke about that same heartache, five years down the line none of that stupid shit will even matter. 

Emotions are good. Emotions are important. Drama is bad. Drama is uncalled-for. Never let attachments or emotions take control of you because usually it turns out to be a mess. A mess that’ll take long to get cleaned up and will also leave a lot of stains. Well, escaping it or ignoring it will do no good. Escapism is only transitory. Drama badi kutti cheez hai. Ek baar you get hooked to it, it becomes a part of you. Just like some people like pain, the rest like drama and then one fine day when you get absolutely sick of them both. Ta-daaa! It’s Nirvana!

When something that you’ve always wanted happens, you feel happy. When something that you didn’t want happens, you feel sad. When you’re ridiculed, you feel humiliated. When you do wrong, you feel guilty. When someone hurts you, you feel hurt. And that’s that. These are just conditioned responses. I’ve come to realise that emotional maturity is not about avoiding emotions, it’s just about avoiding all the emotional drama that follows.

I read this somewhere – ‘Every sorrow lasts for maximum 20-30 minutes, after that it’s just who you choose to be. Don’t react to any situation in life, instead choose your response.’ Remember that statement every time you fall into an emotional trap and believe me, a lot will change. When something that’s not bound to happen, happens, your reaction to the same is just justified. How long you want to hold on to it is your response.
They say it’s when you have that encounter with reality that’s when you learn, learn the best.
They said right. Disguised as experiences, come lessons.

 

Author:

I'm an ordinary girl with ordinary dreams to whom those small little things in life and love matter the most. I live everyday, learning what life wants to teach me. A lot of me you will like and even more you may dislike. Judge me by how much you know of me or get to know me a little more. I leave the option to you :)

17 thoughts on “Emotions YES, Emotional Drama NO!

  1. “Emotions are good. Emotions are important. Drama is bad.” Something that everyone needs to know. Good One. I Like it (Y)

Leave a Reply

