Posted in Life as i see it

”Nobody said it was easy, Noone even said it would be this hard” – Courtesy Coldplay


A lot of thoughts do strike me when I read the above title but the current one occupying most of my ‘thinking time’ is what I want to pursue after my graduation. It’s that time of my life again! After 10th grade, there were three streams to pick from – Science, Commerce or Arts. After 12th grade, since I was a commerce student I had to pick one either B.Com or BBM. But now what after B.com seems like an impossible decision for me to decide.
Here is a just a glimpse of what I go through almost every single time or wait, at every family gathering because my friends seem to be sailing on the same boat as me.
Conversation with person ‘X’:
“Final year eh? Higher studies? Job?”
“If higher studies, what? Which college? Is it a reputed institution? How many competitive exams have you answered yet? What’s your ranking?”
“If job, which firm? Which city are you placed in? How much does it pay?”
When asked questions like these, I want to punch them in the face and reply saying, “Your business? No Right? Then do me a favor, kindly fuck off.” very politely I promise.
Conversation with person ‘Y’:
“Final year eh? What plans further?”
“What field does your interest lie in? What have you considered doing about it? Need any further guidance regarding the same, Ask for it!”
When asked questions like these, even if that person may not genuinely care, I know for sure that my choices or interests are respected.
Having these conversations with X & Y is still less exasperating than having them with oneself! Imagine you had these questions popping up your head in the middle of the night or while eating chocolate ice-cream or while watching your favorite series? I’m sure a lot of you have gone through this, are going through this or will go through this at some point of time.
Interest. Money. Satisfaction. Security. Happiness. Reputation. Competition. Luxurious life. Contended life. Needs. Responsibilities. Do what makes you happy now? Do what will keep you happy ten years down the line? Keep yourself happy. Keep your family happy. All this confusion simply leads to nothing but even more confusion.
Now: You won’t need that. You’ll need this.
Later: You won’t need this. You’ll need that.

Thiisssss!
Thiisssss!

There was no escape to this now. I had to make up my mind. You know those things you want to do and those things you have to do. Oh man, the dilemma. I’m afraid that if I take this a little more lightly & I’ll be left neither here nor there. Success in my words is pushing yourselves a little ahead of your comfort zones, achieving something you once dreamt off. An achievement is an achievement only when you’ve earned something you really wanted. There are no short cuts to success. It’s a very slow process and not an overnight. But is success all we want? Doesn’t self-satisfaction take a lead in the want list?
Break rules from the so called rule book! Never take decisions emotionally! Work hard, play hard! Want something? Earn it! Don’t want it? Scrap it! Sometimes less is more than enough! Have a logical mind and not an emotional mind! Follow your passion, live your dream and design your own future!

Have a good day! 

Author:

I'm an ordinary girl with ordinary dreams to whom those small little things in life and love matter the most. I live everyday, learning what life wants to teach me. A lot of me you will like and even more you may dislike. Judge me by how much you know of me or get to know me a little more. I leave the option to you :)

12 thoughts on “”Nobody said it was easy, Noone even said it would be this hard” – Courtesy Coldplay

  1. Very well mentioned!!! Most of the graduates look for a job for luxury, money, and comfortability, sadly no one seeks job satisfaction. They measure success with money. One more point I would add is yes it’s not an easy path and it’s not the hardest either “if u don’t give up”… Great job deepika!! Very matured thoughts.

    1. Hey Kruti, Firstly thanks a lot for stopping by! 🙂
      I swear,sadly success is measured with money. People run so much behind money that they forget to live at times :\ Thanks a lot on the advice 🙂
      I hope I am able to decide soon.
      Billion thanks again! 🙂

  2. Woww! 😀 Though I have a year left but this blog leaves me with more thoughts which I should reconsider before choosing the next step in my career. Brilliant blog Vasani! 🙂

Leave a Reply

